re:space

Our Space for
Sustainability

Re:Space stands for sustainably developed and produced technical textiles. We implement a complete recycling loop that begins with the raw material and continues through to its application in the end product and beyond to reuse.
The loop is further expanded by the fundamental possibility of using recycled material as raw material, thereby not only completing the recycling loop, but also helping to prevent existing mountains of waste from growing any bigger.

With our RE:SPACE products, we actively contributes to reducing the world’s overall plastic waste. The concept can be rounded off by using plastics fished out of the world’s oceans as raw materials. Over time these plastics in the water are reduced to microplastics, which are already known to represent a danger to the global ecosystem. The potential impact of this threat has yet to be fully determined. This product concept is constantly growing, and more articles are set be added. These efforts are complemented by our work to present Re:Space versions of existing products in the future and by adopting persuasive new solution approaches for our product range and processes from our suppliers. In the future, we anticipate a particularly significant rise in demand for textiles made from recycled materials for applications in the automobile industry.

RE:SPACE products are manufactured in a fully integrated production sequence at our manufacturing facilities in Tübingen, Germany. We map short communication distances and interlinked processes that are constantly undergoing optimisation. Since the processes involved in textile manufacture and finishing require large amounts of energy, our goal is to reduce these energy needs by using the appropriate materials and developing new processes. The exhaust air used in manufacturing textile fabrics is subjected to additional thermal cleaning, and the heat generated in the process is supplied to the municipal district heating network.

Using this regenerative thermal oxidation system enables us to supply the public with some 3.8 GWh of heat annually, representing carbon dioxide savings of 700 t. As an ISO 50001-certified company, we are required to verify all such savings.

RÖKONA Textilwerk GmbH & Co. KG
Schaffhausenstraße 101
72072 Tübingen

re:space

unser Raum für
Nachhaltigkeit

Re:Space steht für nachhaltig entwickelte und produzierte technische Textilien. Hier wird ein vollständiger Recycling-Kreislauf vom Rohstoff über den Einsatz im Endprodukt bis hin zur Wiederverwendung realisiert.
dieser wird durch die grundsätzliche Möglichkeit, recyceltes Material als Rohstoff einzusetzen, erweitert. Dadurch wird nicht nur der Recycling-Kreislauf geschlossen, sondern auch ein Beitrag geleistet, bestehende Abfallberge nicht weiter wachsen zu lassen.

Wir tragen über die RE:SPACE-Produkte aktiv dazu bei, dass die weltweiten Mengen an Plastikabfall reduziert werden. Das Konzept kann durch den Einsatz von Meeresplastik abgerundet werden, d.h. Rohstoffe, die aus den Weltmeeren gefischt wurden. Diese Kunststoffe würden mit der Zeit zu Microplastik, das bekanntermaßen eine derzeit noch nicht vollumfänglich einzuschätzende Gefahr für das weltweite Ökosystem darstellt. Dieses Produktkonzept ist ein stetig wachsendes. Ergänzend werden weitere Artikel hinzukommen. Abrundend arbeiten wir daran, bereits bestehende Produkte zukünftig in einer Re:Space-Ausführung darzustellen, sowie neue, überzeugende Lösungsansätze unserer Lieferanten in unsere Produktwelt und Prozesse aufzunehmen. Insbesondere für Anwendungen der Automobilindustrie ist in Zukunft mit einem deutlichen Anstieg der Nachfrage an Textilien aus recycelten Rohstoffen zu rechnen.

Die RE:SPACE-Produkte werden in einem vollstufigen Produktionsablauf am Standort in Tübingen hergestellt. Wir bilden kurze Wege und verzahnte Prozesse ab, die wir stetig weiter optimieren. Da die Herstellung und Veredlung von Textilien prozessbedingt mit einem hohen Energieaufwand verbunden sind, ist unser Ziel, diesen Energiebedarf durch den Einsatz von geeigneten Materialien und durch die Entwicklung von neuen Prozessen zu verringern. Die bei der Herstellung von textilen Flächen entstehende Abluft wird einer zusätzlichen thermischen Reinigung unterzogen. Die im Prozess entstandene Wärme wird dem städtischen Fernwärmenetz zugeführt.

Durch den Einsatz der Anlage zur Regenerativen Thermischen Oxidation können der Öffentlichkeit so pro Jahr ca. 3,8 GWh Wärme zur Verfügung gestellt werden, dies entspricht einer Einsparung von 700 t Kohlendioxid. Da wir nach der ISO 50001 zertifiziert sind, müssen alle Einsparungen nachgewiesen werden.